Thanks 2003-10-12 10:41 p.m.


My in-laws are camping this weekend, and we were on our way out of town for Thanksgiving dinner with them... in Blair's mother's car.

Blair was driving, his sister beside him... and I was in the back with his brother and his sister-in-law. I behind Blair for obvious leg room issues...

We had hardly made out of town going south... traffic wasn't extremely heavy... nothing out of the ordinary...

Suddenly as a big hauler truck passed us, a huge popping sound filled our ears... like a snowball on a window... and within seconds the left side of my face began to sting... My brain couldn't quite follow yet... when inreverse, it seems, I recall watching Blair's window shatter all over us. From clear to spider-web green...

Blair didn't flinch... he didn't slow down... he didn't swirve... he waited and onto a side road he turned... it wasn't until we stopped that I had the nerve to take my hands off my face....

I thought for certain I was cut... the sting of glass whipping at 100 k... but amazingly... no one was. All five of us were covered head to toe in tiny cubes of green and sandy bits of broken glass... and we all walked away unscathed...

My left eye is itchy sore... like something is stuck in it... but Blair looked and he can't see anything... so I flushed it well after we drove back to town.

Blair's brother vacuumed the glass... Blair coveerd the hole with plastic and an hour and a half later, we were on our way again.

We were late for dinner... his mum knew something was wrong... woman's intuition... or a mother's worry...

And she wasn't mad about her car... not even a little. *laugh* That would be unlike my mother... who would be happy you're ok, but still be mad about her broken window.

I suppose this Thanksgiving I was given something obvious to be thankful for... that tonight it was only a rock through a window, a glass shower and nothing more. Thankful that Blair kept a clear head... and didn't panic... like I would have had I been behind that wheel... thankful that our pretty faces are still pretty... and we were here to talk about it...

Lord knows I have a habit of losing people to cars...

My thanks tonight need not be said...


previous next comments diaryland old