Not much I can say about it... 2003-07-01 9:40 p.m.


My mood was light until my mother called... my mood often turns heavy when I hear from home.... it's always bad news, you know... and in part I am glad that's NOT my life anymore, despite the things I miss.

The story, always very unclear when it comes from one mouth and then from another four times over... but we all make of it what we can... and the truth is always there behind the bits of exaggeration.

People I know... well enough to pass them on the street and say hello, but no further... one, the sister of a girl I graduated with (if not that very girl, though I am nearly positive she never had a child in high school, and she would to make this story right)... and the brother of another girl I know... live together... they had a fight on the weekend.

He beat her fiercely... and he shot her child dead.

I am really at a loss here... nothing I say can express my disgust... I have no vocabulary for it... I am completely horrified that THAT would happen in our small town... that such things KEEP happening in our small town.

I guess I don't understand it. I don't understand how one man's rage could make him kill a child. Mum seems to think it was his as well.. but I find it completely IMPOSSIBLE to believe a man would murder his own child... how naive am I? But the more I think of it, the more I seem to recall that they did have a son together... and the more my stomach turns...

I nearly cried when I asked Mum how a woman is suppose to love her son after he does something like that.

"A mother doesn't stop loving her child... EVER... under any circumstance, but she can lose all respect... and it would be fucking hard to ever look at him again."

I bet... and as a sister how do you love your brother after that? I know I couldn't. As a sister whose brother has taken a life, even in accident, I know it is INCREDIBLY hard to regain the same relationship again... as though he was fragile... almost tainted. I regret to admit it, but that is how it was.

Had my brother's incident not been an accident in genuine form... had he been drunk... had he been speeding, I am positive I would have hated him for it... it almost shreds me to think that way, but I know myself.

I should know better than to hold judgement against anyone who had yet to be tried... but it's certain this guy did this... and for his sin, I sincerely hope he gets put in general public.

I know there are many of self-proclaimed innocents in prison willing to lay justice down where it is due. I hope he meets one.


previous next comments diaryland old