vent... and blue 2003-06-18 10:06 p.m.


I gave Shannon something blue to have with her on her wedding day...

On the way home tonight she mentioned she was missing the blue... so I took off my sterling necklace with blue glass beads and gave it to her... I am not sure how she'll be able to use, but she has it, just the same. I hope it helps.

I know she's only going for 5 days but I am DREADING it beyond belief. I am a man down... *laugh* NOT good.

Yesterday the shop got flowers for a rush job I did last week... it's the second time a customer has sent the shop flowers for my work *laugh* yay me... and not that I am keeping track. I mean... we get so little recognition where I sit and I appreciate her gratitude.

And still I've been disgruntled by attitude lately.... by the news, by people's lack of common sense and lack of responsibility...

As everyone has, I heard that a group of supposedly smart people are asking the federal Competition Bureau to investigate cigarette companies for fraudulent marketing, claiming the labels "light" and "mild" paint the wrong picture for the consumer.

This is the dumbest thing I have heard in a while. Maybe I am the only one who doesn't find those labels misleading. Maybe I have always known it doesn't mean anything more than lighter in taste... but I don't smoke.

However, I never figured those labels mean't "will kill you less quickly" and I somehow doubt that the vast majority believed it either. So the question be this... are cigarette companies responsible for consumer's ignorance?

Definitely NOT.

Read the fine print on "lite" food products. Many of them aren't low in fat at all, rather lower in sodium or carbohydrates. Consumers assume by the word "lite" the product has less fat and that isn't necessarily so. Is that fraudulent? By the definition used againt cigarette companies, it is.

The consumer should take the time to educate himself... shouldn't he?

Personally I think smoking is disgusting... but it is choice... and with choice and ignorance comes consquence. I'd apologize for my complete lack of empathy but I don't have to.

It is for these same reasons I don't believe WCB should fork over money to a woman who tended a smokey bar for 20 years. I am sorry she is sick, but she chose to work there...

I grew up with a man who farmed for a living. He was exposed daily to horrible pesticides that ultimately ate him inside out. He was cancerous every inch of his body for four years. he died last year at 36. He never saw a penny. Why not?

My grandfather was a coal minor for 50 years... his lungs darker than night since he was 25. He lived a long life with cancer but was never compensated either.

Is lack of knowledge fifty years ago any reason to shame "rightful" compensation away from everyone who worked a dangerous job back in the day....

Does anyone else see how this is riduculous?

I am tired of everyone blaming someone else for their hardships. You know I've had it hard too... I say it a lot here and only here do I mention it... but I seriously have NO ONE to blame for it.... I can't even blame myself.

So it bothers me that activists point fingers at companies... when consumers are the ones to blame for their OWN stupidity... it bothers me when people dying by consquence make the rest of their lives a quest to conquer.... to be a matyr to a cause we all know too much of already.

It sounds insensitive... perhaps it is.

Realize responsibility and move on with it.


previous next comments diaryland old