Not much 2003-06-18 8:22 a.m.


As a friend, I am sure I have done everything I can to let her know I think she could do better than the man she's going to marry.

I remind her everytime she complains about him that the next 80 years are going to be long... I remind her that woman was NOT created for his labour nor his enjoyment... and if she thinks he needs to be taught a thing or two, he can come stay with me for a week.... *laugh* I'd love to be the catalyst in THAT wake up call....

But as a friend I have an equal obligation to support her and let her make her own mistakes... however drastic they may be. I asked her the other day why she felt the need to marry... they've lived together for 5 years... they have a child... why the legal bond? As a Qu�becer it is only natural that a need to marry might confuse me.... but she says she wants to share her daughter's last name.

THAT'S IT? I don't understand that... coming from a place where rarely do mother and child share names... from a place a mind set that if I had a child tomorrow, my child would bear MY last name, not his. I guess I don't get it all around.

What can I do? Not much.


previous next comments diaryland old