cored 2003-03-31 8:48 p.m.


A little humour in the midst of a hurricane.....

The boy and I agrued all weekend about his wanting and my NOT wanting to see the movie "The Core"....

Why would I rather gnaw my own leg off, you ask... well I am not and never have been much for American patriotism. The whole idea of the American government being the world's salvation in the time of crisis... is not only egotistical and disgusting... it's one thing I rather not think about.

For the same reason I won't watch war movies. There is NO hero in the face of war. Ever.

But, finally it was decided, by one's hand more than my own that we were going to see this movie come hell or high water.... ironicly I would have preferred either of those over watching this show....

He bought our tickets and I silently waged a war with the powers that be.

Previews... lots of them... and undoubtedly the only bit of the movie I was going to enjoy... I sat and watched intently....

Then, the MOVIE.... I relaxed a little... leaning with my head on the boy's shoulder... settling down for a nap....

People dropping dead... birds falling out the sky... a little whitty humour and that French guy that plays evil in most action films... Twenty minutes into the film.... and then...

The screen cuts blank... the lights fade on.... I whisper "The power went out"....

And the boy shakes his head not wanting to believe it...

Minutes later and employee comes in... stands at the front of the cinema and, regretfully informs the excited paying viewers that indeed the power was out and he didn't know for how long.

It was all I could do NOT to do a touch down dance in the middle of the aisle.

Somebody somewhere was listening to me.

We ended up with a coupon each - a movie for one and a guest....

How ironic is it, though, that the boy bought the tickets and got reimbursed... I bought the snacks... and I am still out eight bucks on a movie I never wanted to see.

In any case I am not complaining.


previous next comments diaryland old