The dress conundrum 2003-03-30 9:53 p.m.


Sometimes my life is so very simple I have to wonder if it's ever really complicated to begin with.

I did nothing today. I went dress shopping. I don't own a dress, and truthfully, like swimsuits, I don't know that I have ever bought myself a dress. They have mostly been gifts for occasions I never cared going to to begin with.... or it was prom, so my parents bought it... or Mum made them because I had a strong sense of self and what I wanted either didn't exist or didn't fit me right.

But, i have weddings to go to this summer and I thought, maybe, this was a good time, if any, to buy myself a dress.

I found two... a pretty pink one that isn't really me, but it's summery and soft... Trying on small seemed logical for my frame.... it fit everywhere but around the chest. Now, explain to me why clothes in Le Ch�teau are made for TALL, skinny, BOOBless woman... and why a girl who is 5 nothing, 100 lbs would have to try on a large to get a good fit?

And I saw a little black one that is most definitely Amanda as the world used to know her.... I put it on and felt like cat woman for a moment... and it was cheap so I bought it.

Now, I have people.... friends... who believe strongly that it's wrong to wear black to a wedding.

And I have my mother, who says people will expect that sort of thing from me (whatever that means). Suggests that I should wear some nice antique jewelry and be done with it. Little does she know, she'll be in my company, and I wonder if her opinion would change, then.

Nicole said she'd kill me if I ever wore black to her wedding... and she's considering reminding me at the bottom of her invitations.... printing the words "Amanda, do NOT wear black" on all 450,000 invites it'll take to invite her father's family alone. She says it's bad luck... and I get the feeling her family would try to stone me if I dared it. Thankfully, she isn't the one getting married this summer.

Now I swear I wore black to my boy's cousin's wedding last year... mind you, it wasn't solid black, but I am pretty sure the event went off well.... minus the brief hissy-fit the bride had and the agrument between her and the groom. I guess I am doubtful it had anyhting to do with the colour of my skirt.

Would I offend a roomful of people... half I know and wouldn't question it, and half who might just be old bitties in their large floral print taffeta dresses and Sunday bonnets. by the same length they could be hee-haws like majority of my father's family and not know etiquette from a mosquito bite. Uncertainty is hard... but as a good friend points out, I've never really been one to care what other think of...

I'll show up at a wedding, invited yet my presence unplanned for... looking nice, but it some eyes offensive.... the irony... SURPRISE

So please tell me what you think.... fill my guestbook if you must, I don't care. Is it wrong? At this time in our world, do people really believe bad luck has to do with the colour of a guest's dress...

And could my family's luck really get any worse?


previous next comments diaryland old