roses and blood drops 2003-03-08 9:47 a.m.


The question be by some... do I have friends... people in my world that would tarnish my character if I believed that was even possible.

Of course I do. On a lesser scale I have friends I could think better off... involved in gangs and the wars around them... I have friends, and family for that matter, that are deep into selling and buying drugs in a degree you might not even think possible for a few dumb small-town kids and their pets.

In larger scale... I am close to the family of the guy convicted of raping and killing Tara Manning.... and though I have my own opinions, the court has called him guilty.... I grew up with his little sister, best friends with his neighbours, and though I can't say he and I know each other well enough beyond the occasional push on the swing in the park when I was eight... or to pass him on the street and say Hi... people in his family are adopted memebers of mine... his cousins are essential in our life... so if reflection is based on friendship, wouldn't family ties hold tenfold?

My grandfather killed a man... as did his son... and my brother a boy... it seems to be a family curse... and because I love these people... because I am apart of them, does that mean I threw the punch that broke some man's nose?

Maybe I am missing the point altogether...

But this I know. I am not any of these people. And as adults comes an understanding that we are solely responsible for who and what we become.... for every good and evil that passes through our lips or touch... we are accountable for our actions and we have to live with our regrets.... life will make no exception for any of us...

A rose is not a rose without a thorn.


previous next comments diaryland old