Reflect 2003-03-07 9:54 p.m.


Do you believe this?

"You are reflected by your friends."

In or out of context, I can give you a thousand reasons to falsify it. I can't find one reason to validate it.

A friend's poor behaviour is not a reflection of my character. If only it show I can see beyond the scratches and into the soul.

I am a reflection of my life... I am defined by my past.... by my blood.... by what I've learned... I've been held up through storm upon storm by a web of strong arms... solid hearts... and I've fallen through.

I am solely responsible for my mistakes... and equally for my triumphs... I've had help... but the success and shame are mine.

I am not defined by the people I play with.... but the ones who took the girl and broke the mould.... the very few that found the copper in me, and twisted... I am defined my the words I speak.... the steps I take... the breath I breathe...

I am defined by five feet of flesh.... bone and sweat. I am defined by my memories... my aspiartions... my dreams... I am not alone in this world, I know...

Still the only reflection I see in your two-way glass belongs to me.


previous next comments diaryland old