Bionic bugs 2003-03-08 9:41 p.m.


Within life will always be certain enigmas... And this is one of them...

I walked into one of our bathrooms today... the one we don't use as often... the one not in our bedroom (thankfully)... to find a huge cricket comfortable at the base of the toilet... Impressed? Hmmmm not so much, no.

Unlike my six-year-old self, I hate bugs. So I did my freaked out dance... and got a broom to make sure it was dead.

We live on the third floor... and we're in the midst of a deep freeze here... there shouldn't be a bug at this height from here to Northern California...

And I bet that's true for all but this one bionic buggar.

Well, you had better believe that I wasn't go in that bathroom to catch or kill it... and unlike Blair's bright idea I was NOT letting our cat eat it either...

We all MUST fear the bug that can live through the bitter cold and make it up four flights of stairs...

And in seriousness, bugs are disease carrying drones... who knows what country it was hatched in and what exactly it decided to bring into our condo. I rather not feed him to the mound of fur that chooses my pillow to call home.

Blair, mostly not by choice, was elected on bug detail... he had to trap it to keep it from jumping all over... and with a pieces of paper under the container was going to dump it as soon as I flushed so it wouldn't spring it's bionic little legs and escape...

Blair... I'm at his right... the cat below us.... I flush... he moves the paper a little bit... the bug jumps OUT! I scream.... *laugh* and the cat does the BEST road runner impersonation I've ever seen... his legs roll for a good 30 seconds before his little kitty heart lands back into his chest and he bee-lines out the door. He's a brave one.

We finally got the cricket flushed... but for the life of me, I don't know how it got in here....

Mum might be right... maybe a neighbour has a lizard that dines on crickets... but still, how would it get in HERE?! Do we have a hole in the wall we should now about? Did it crawl through the vent? I so hope not....

I just better not find a cricket making cozy in my bed.... and worse, I better NEVER walk into that bathroom and find an iguana looking for his food...

Unit living has it's perks, doesn't it? I had a serious conversation with myself tonight about saving my advance for a house...

And in other news, I sliced the tip of my left thumb off on the slicing part of a grater tonight... not fun. I handle blood as well as I handle bugs... only I get a little more faint and shakey... though I stand to believe there's an medical explanation for that... even without seeing it, loosing blood, even at small amounts, makes me dizzy.


previous next comments diaryland old