~I had this dream...~ 2002-03-25 9:30 p.m.


I am praying for spring... Walking to work today was beautiful... it was warm and very sunny and the spring birds were calling...

I can mimic their sound well... but if we're ever up together on a spring or summer morning, I'll be sure to point them out. We have those birds at home too... I don't know what they are - Mum would. They remind me of childhood... of dewy grass in the morning... tiny bare feet and smelling wet tulips... grapes as a morning snack... and Mr. Vincent... waiting for me to bother him over his coffee... Standing there peering into his screened porch, watching him make necklaces out of coccinas...

I have several of them, still.

I have fond childhood memories of Spring... of my mother's flower gardens... of playing in amongst them and in the grass.

Warm weather makes me want to walk for miles... backwards... back to then... before I was in school... when time was me and Mum... when we'd do nothing in a day (at least from my small eyes) but play and paint... We'd plant flowers... tomato plants... she'd let me collect bugs... and keep them in jars on a bookshelf in the porch...

That ended one day when we woke up and most of the jars were empty... the jars with the spiders... and the one with the garden snake... Mum went hysterical... and if I wanted to keep the crawlies anymore I had to keep them at my grandmother's...

I am not sure I've touched much of anything creepy like that since.

So much fun back then... Even though I remember crying at least once a day... I caused trouble... I know it and though I'd convince myself in the morning i wouldn't get in trouble, I wouldn't get the beats and I wouldn't cry because of my brothers... i was always in my room - TIME OUT - by noon.

And the memories grew as I got older... i think.. Something slightly sacred about the Sun standing strong in the East... and tea on the deck... in bare feet and undies... a quiet so deep....

Sitting on a table top... My legs tangled with the cats and the dog... my hands warm... the shoulders cool.

There is a comfort about this time of year... about Mum's flowers... gazing over a world of colour... of tulips... irises and bleeding hearts... and the sea of Forget-me-nots.


previous next comments diaryland old