Reloaded CRAP 2003-05-20 9:45 p.m.


Saw the Matrix Reloaded and I am very aware of some things....

Anyone who says they understand the principle of those movies is lying. No one can ever convince me that the movie(s) make any kind of logical sense... nor that there is a plot to follow.

I can only give half credit where half credit is due.... and I give that to an effort at special effects... which were at the best of times OBVIOUSLY, PATHETICALLY digital... and they didn't seem to make any effort whatsoever to disguise Reeves' stunt double to look anything like him. Maybe it's the nature of a trained eye... and maybe not... but in any case it was the only part of the torturous two hours that amused me greatly.

Admittedly my eyes were closed within ten minutes of the show (much like the last) and I opened them periodically when something somewhat witty was muttered on screen... After all Keanu Reeves stars... so how witty can the dialogue REALLY be?

Maybe that's my problem... the man is a pathetic actor. Everytime I see him i am taken back to the pain staken time I was forced to watch A Walk in The Clouds... and even though I love the dumb humour of Bill and Ted, I can't bring myself to associate him with it.... he's unjoyous and ridiculously rich for NOTHING... his talent falls short of nonexistant. The geese in Fly Away Home have him beat... seriously.

So it all comes back to the cult following of stupid movies... movies that people are too ashamed to admit they don't get because everyone else around them was also too ashamed to do so... so we have a world full of disillusioned followers making sense where there is no sense at all.

It all comes down to red or blue... I guess... something which I am still trying to undstand. I'm wishing they'd offered me a hit on my way in.

$5.50 on a Tuesday night... crack, not included.


previous next comments diaryland old