stuffy and excited. 2003-05-04 12:36 a.m.


I woke up a mess... worse than usual... my eyes swollen like I was crying for days... my skin pale, except for the crackwhore circles that defined my face... my entire face congested with pollen and probably infection.

After five hours of sleep I got up to complain how ugly I am... took a couple tylenol for the swelling... rumaged through the cabinets in the bathroom for allergy spray... much to my surprise I found an expired sample of what I am sure is nothing more than sulfuric acid. Its market name is Flonase... it didn't help much.

I am allergic to a type of tree pollen here that we don't have at home and apparently also to what people call snow mold here, whatever that is... again another bonus to my holiday.

I am tired... and anxious... and insane with excitment... though only in sudden and brief bursts.

I can't wait to breathe culture again... to see faces of other colours and hear tongues beyond English... it seems a strange thing to miss maybe... but after all this time it might be what I miss most.


previous next comments diaryland old