bother 2003-05-02 11:23 p.m.


I cleaned our room tonight... I can't remember the last time I tackled it... and worse I don't know if it's been vacuumed since I moved in. Gross.

I thought I'd get a head start on things... we have to pick up a bit to make room for our roommate. She needs a place to sleep at least... a place for a little privacy... I think somehow her own bathroom alone might not cut it.

I feel drawn... unable to put words on my tongue and I am not sure if I am just overwhelmed or this is my body's way of saying it needs added attention. I am having trouble saying words that begin with "p" especially two in a row like "Please press". I feel old... and crazy. Like a man I once knew with Alzheimers... I remind myself of him... only i think his memory was better...

Frustrating... everything is... work is getting crazy and I am starting to count the hours before I go on holiday. It seems my boss has forgotten I am leaving next week... he keeps putting jobs on my desk... jobs that will require a lot of time and effort... jobs I won't be around to see all the way through... and switching hands is a hazard for error in the worst way.

We switched our systems over to Corel 11... and five days later I am still cursing it. I am not a programmer, and hardly a Corel expert but i wonder why for much of it, they couldn't have left well enough alone. It took me all of six hours to master Corel 8 inside out... and now, 38 hours on Corel 11, I am still looking for things I shouldn't have to.

I had bitmap separation issues today... and of course if there's going to be a glitch in Corel 11, I'll find it trying to output a very expensive job to neg... *rolls eyes*... my famous last words: "I'll find a way around it... somehow" (However unsilently and unvulgar). And I did *laugh*, I output with Corel 8. I suppose it was a solution and not an answer but until I have the energy to solve it, it will do. The job went out right... and the seps look good.

I had moments in that process where I realized printing is a dying breed in media... where it takes a certain know-how to get it done right... and it's evident when completely shitty work from other so-called professionals lands on my desk each week...

I wish they taught basic print in college. I wish everyone knew what a bleed is.... and how to use it properly. I wish everyone knew that it's standard to leave 5/16" margin on everything done for press or colour copier... I'd settle even if they knew what 5/16" is.

I wish designers knew that all those fancy effects in Photoshop are bullshit for print... unless you have money coming out of your ass for negatives and metal plates or you're prepared for work off a copier that will ALWAYS look crooked when cut, to me at least. I wish "deginers" knew how to centre things... or how to make things esthetically appealing... symmetry is a wonderful thing.

I wish I knew less... and I had a shorter wish list. I guess what I know I take as common knowledge... at least for anyone who knows (or thinks they know) anything about design, layout, photography or media.

That's my rant for the evening... these are the bits of the day that bothered me.


previous next comments diaryland old