if oblivion was a mountain 2004-08-08 6:20 p.m.


I am back... I survived a week's camping. My foot, however, has seen better moments... even since it's break and rebirth. It's fucking fat. And SORE!

I love Canada. Canada, next to skittles... might very well be one of my true great loves. I am in love with the mountains... the rocks... the crystal clear-blue water... the cold of glacial run-off.... I am even somewhat in love with the wildlife... even if it strolls all but 60 feet away from me... big... and black... and bearlike.

There's a sense of home amongst the jaggedness of the peaks... a sense of calming to the cool air... and though I could never fulfil a living living there... it's a fantasy of sorts to try.

Of course I am much too much of a princess for that to be a reality, and I've lived in several remote... isolated places... I know better than to dream that way. Summers birth beauty... and winters are desolate and long.

But from now until the end... i will always make an effort to go back... if only for a week...

We drove through Jasper... and we only ever say one elk, a goat and her kid. Not a single sheep on the road... that must be a record of some kind... Jasper is known for their hooved friends to be everywhere.... and disappointed me, didn't see a single sheep... not a ram, not a ewe, not a lamb. *pout*. Why that disappoints me, I am not sure... I've only ever seen 50,000 of them in my lifetime. I suppose it's the clich� I like. I expected it.

And now I sit... back in the flats of a town I don't love nor like... and the thoughts of returning to my job on Tuesday are daunting... I've thought all week how my time is anytime and how it feels like time... now. My patience thin from over analysing... the balance unable to make up its mind. I have far more to lose than gain.

My friend told me last week that I belong to a rock star... it took me a week to figure out what it was he was trying to say...


previous next comments diaryland old