signing 2004-02-13 9:03 p.m.


Have I mentioned yet, that I'm learning sign language? I am. I work with a deaf woman (and I assume that's as politically correct as she likes it, since she taught me the sign for deaf)... it's a little hard, because of my idiot left hand, but all together it's FABULOUS therapy for it... it forces dexterity I would otherwise ignore... mmm typically avoid.

I am not great because of the limitation I do have, but I think I am making due... and my vocabulary has to be near 100 words already, and the alphabet of course. I can already string along basic sentences... salutations and all that....

The funny part... I am shy to sign... it's a typical "Man, what if I do it wrong at look like an idiot" thing and I shouldn't feel that way... The point after all is to make conversation easier for R....

I grew up with the value of two languages... believing that if two people can understand eachother the world is a peaceful one (so to speak). I was taught communication is a form of respect... and I should make the effort to understand the people around me no matter what they speak...

So I'm making that effort... as she has learned to read lips... I will learn to read her hands...

It only seems fair, afterall.


previous next comments diaryland old