wrong number 2003-12-29 11:08 p.m.


K... friend... you're going to laugh... scribbled on a piece of green paper is a phone number I THOUGHT belonged to my friend... I called it. It's his birthday today...

A machine picked up... "You have reached [blah blah] Productions. I am sorry we can't take your call..."

I hang up. About a half an hour later the phone rings...

"Hello..."

"Hi this is Mike at [blah blah] Productions..."

"Yes...??"

"We're one of Canada's top music producers... you called earlier. Who did you want to book? Or were you booking yourself?"

"Pardon?"

"You called about 30 mins ago. I missed your call."

"Yeah, Man, I hung up your machine."

"So you don't need to talk to anyone?"

"No.... I thought it was my friend's cell. I am sorry. THAT is why I hung UP on your machine."

"Where you calling from?"

"Alberta"

"Well we have offices in Edmonton and Calgary. Did you mean to get one of those?"

"No."

"so you DON'T want to speak to anyone here?"

"That's right. It was an ACCIDENT. And it's 9 pm there - after hours. I assumed hanging up would be safe."

"No. We're here 24/7 for our clients."

"I am NOT a client. I dialed the WRONG NUMBER..."

"Oh.. I didn't realize"

[how could he NOT realize? i told him 3 times]

"Yes, My fault. I am SORRY for your confusion."

"I am not confused, no worries."

"Ok, then... have a good night."

He hangs up...

I mutter and get back to life.... but the question is this... who in the WORLD calls a long distant number back when the person HUNG UP to begin with?

Someone like me.


previous next comments diaryland old