Christmas treat 2003-12-25 2:28 p.m.


I am spoiled... but I like it that way...

One of the greatest... a call from a friend back home... one of whom I rarely hear from... who spends Christmas everywhere but at home...

California came up on call display and I was a little taken back... I wasn't sure... friends who might call from California... well.. one wouldn't call... and one just died.

"Merry Christmas, Baby..."

"Merry Christmas... *I stop breathing to catch a sense through sleepiness and it it hits me... smack in the face.... HOW ARE YOU??!! I can't belive you're calling me!"

"I wanted to surprise you. Are you happy Baby?"

"Yes."

"Happier than you were..."

"I am fine, Hun, really."

And I wonder why everyone asks me if I am happy... especially when I have to wonder if they really care. Not in HIS instance... but in many...

So we talked a little about the weather and the oddity of a Californian Christmas... and he reminds me he'd only ever spent two in Ontario to begin with... We laughed about my laziness on Christmas morning... and how at 10 am we were just starting the frenzy... I tell him I should go... and he says "Yes, I'll let your lazy ass get back being spoiled, Baby... I just wanted to make you smile. I love you."

"You did... and I love you bigger."

That is friendship... and it is THAT that assures me I'll make it...


previous next comments diaryland old