weekend's end 2003-10-05 10:18 p.m.


I managed not to do anything I set out to do this weekend.

Our foosball table is piled HIGH in weeks of clean laundry... I am convinced that's all it's good for anyway... our nice $400 laundry rack... delicate hanger... and a fab place to hang my coats, my hand bags and totes.

In that sense.... I kinda like it.

I never made it out with my camera... and I am sure I have pretty much missed my opportunity for great fall shots. By next weekend, the leaves will be gone and probably, by next weekend, snow will be had - again.

Saturday I stayed in bed for the best of the day... I made a quick run to Zellers and came out of La Senza with two very expensive bras... I LOVE how that happens. I regret sleeping away a day that reached 30 degrees, but my body is at times my dictator and I listen to it.

This morning we went for brunch at the city's newest and most expensive restaurant... it was free courtesy of a customer... the occasional perk... here and there... free tickets to shows and free breakfasts at new restaurants... hey well, I'll take what I can get.

So imagine me standing in line at a buffet... Blair in front of me and a guy I work with standing behind me... I grab a piece of fruit off a plate... take a step back, turn my head and a WHOLE fruit plate, teatering above the one I had taken from moments before, FALLS friecely to the Mexican tiled floor. I am sure the tile cracked... but I DIDN'T TOUCH the fucking plate... I have NO idea how it fell... nevertheless... all eyes on me. Dirty looks from the chef... Blair turning red and the guy I work with is my only ally... he KNOWS I didn't touch it...

It was as if they were waiting for me to beg forgiveness and poor an apology... I would apologize, if I had knocked it, but I didn't knock it. It fell from it's STUPID and whimpy pedistal of two glasses covered is saran wrap.

It figures I HAD to be standing in front of it.

I think what happened is someone further behind me bumped into the table and it slid... but nevertheless when your hand is the last to leave the cookie jar, you're guilty. *laugh*

I never apologized... I believe firmly when you know you did nothing wrong, then you haven't anything to be sorry for... Regardless, they weren't happy with me... maybe I should have looked responsible and said I was sorry... Meh... what odds.

And that, friends, was my weekend.

My boyfriend's collegue thinks I am a bitch because I wouldn't let him stay out all night... in company I don't know... without a definite safe ride home... I wasted July weather in bed... a family friend died... and I made myself unpopular at a free brunch in the newest posh place to eat in town...

If you know me, and know me well, you know that sort of weekend is rather typical for me...


previous next comments diaryland old