The ocean is grey... 2003-09-04 7:50 p.m.


I falling into depression again...

The first time in years... well, almost years.

I KNOW I am falling because I know what falling feels like.

I am not scared - incidently sad, but not scared of it.

And, I don't want drugs. I know this.

I am unhappy at work... I have reasons that might be chalked up to the darkside right now... or reasons that could be truth... but either way I have to restrain my mouth not to get fired... about thifty-five times a day.

Blair says I can quit. He doesn't mean it. I wish he did.

I hate my hair. Maybe only because I am depressed too... I hate the way I look... my tummy... my legs.... I hate my face... my blood... the veins it runs through.

Not much can change that.

I hate too when I say I am sad that I need a reason... I don't need one. I usually don't have one.

Today, I do. Lacey is on my mind. I woke up this morning and remembered instantly that today is 10 months since her death. I can hardly believe it... I lifted my head for a moment... and laid it back down the next in salt and misery.

And I wonder if I would miss her so much if she was living... if this is a grim reminder of how I take the ones I love for granted... If maybe I don't miss her life so much as I loathe what her death brought... to my family... to Nathan. I love him so deeply... and I hate that his has this huge hole in him.

I wonder if knowing what she is missing hurts me more.... that she's missing Nate's baby.

It's not that she died that I cry over but what she left behind...

What does that make me?


previous next comments diaryland old