leather money 2003-08-31 7:18 p.m.


My stomach aches like tiny cherry bombs lining it... an explosion of discomfort with every shift... move... roll.

It makes me miserable. I have a sinus infection and my bronchials were swollen... I should be resting my eyes... but that is the least of my maladies today.

I am a shop-o-holic. I am good with this. I don't see it really degrading my well-being. I mean, sure I owe a few on my Mastercard, but I am paying it off as soon as I am done here and I NEVER carry a balance.

My only debt is to OSAP... and you know the government can kiss my ass if they won't take a complete payout and spare me some interest... so why hurry... I might as well run the course of my loan.

So what do I owe but a little over a grand on an education I am not using... and a few hundred on a mastercard... and my balances elsewhere are plentiful. I could pay my mastercard six times over. It's all good.

Why am I ragged on? And why is it assumed I am a poor money-manager?

I wanted this leather coat at Winners. It was cheap (in the standards of fine lamb skin) and moreover, it fit! It is a few hundred and I might still run later tomorrow and buy it, but even the mention of it and I get the lecture about money management... I buy too much... all the time... and I am not a bargian finder.

ALL lies! He's never with me, he'd never know what steals I find. When, with the exception of one pair of jeans a year and a coat every two to three years, I don't spend over $15 for any article of clothing I buy. I am the queen of a good buy. Even now... the grand total cost of everything on my body from knickers to socks.... is $30.... oh wait $43.05 if you count my four necklaces, my earrings and my hair clip.

It came about by my forgetting my pay cheque in my drawer at work and saying "I have to go pick up this weekend... I have no money to pay bills..." What I meant was, I would have to pay service fees if I let it dip too long under a thousand. And, once all my payments come out on Tuesday, I'd be under a grand if I didn't deposit my cheque.

What he heard was "I spent all my money on clothes and I want a leather coat too."

So he has this fear of us having a joint account, I think. He sees me as the erratic spender [I should add here he just bought EVERY colour of Sharpee ar Officemax.com... there's a useful purchase]when in reality I don't go crazy. Surely I could put more money away into savings for that trip to Ireland next year or my retirement... but I wanna play now, and I don't see the harm in it.

I think if we did join forces we'd kick some serious financial ass and we might even be able to buy a house before winter's out... but you know, I am just fine with keeping what is mine is mine, and his as his.

It seems to be working... but don't look at me crosseyed when I say "leather coat" and "269" in the same sentence... it is my wage I am laying down.


previous next comments diaryland old