camp 2003-08-01 8:19 a.m.


I am going away for the weekend... to sit in the woods and do nothing.

I believe that is the point of camping.... to do nothing... or to do all the things I HATE doing at home, with less convenience... like ahhh, you know, running water and flushing loos.

I vowed last year I would never camp again.... and I suppose I lied... but this time is my FIRST time camping with a big TRAILER... which, if you ask my family, isn't camping at all, but very much like the way their neighbours might live... without the running water and flushing loos and all.

I, on the other hand, have been known to turn from girl to beast, when I can't wash for a day... or shave my arm pits.

I have been seen... and I will NOT deny it... plucking my eye brows in the side mirror of a car because the power went before work.... and I have, so rumours have it, been SO MISERABLE that my father thought it in good taste to get up at 4 am and run a generator for hot water, so he wouldn't have to listen to me grumble and spew in agnoy of my own filth. Well a day's filth... however dirty that can be.

I won't get that treatment this weekend, but I know my boy will probably find, for his better peace, a tub of warm water in the morning, so I can at least wash face properly.

Hmmmm life with me should be interesting.


previous next comments diaryland old