gifts 2003-07-20 11:47 a.m.


I cleaned... That in itself deserves an award, but I somehow think I am not getting one.

I am still tired from it... drained from the usual... lack of vitamin... and I am sure the half tub of cotton candy and bag of popcorn I ate both yesterday afternoon and this morning for breakfast won't help me any.

I have cards to buy today... cards I could admittedly make, and I might yet... if only I could get the printer installed on this machine... without a CD rom... it might be hard.... and boy's computers are missing the ever-essential vector friendly programs. Blagh... perfectionism will curdle my blood.

I am not sure what to get my brother for his birthday.... he'll be 27... and he has nothing, so it SHOULD be easy... but it isn't. Perhaps I'll make him a necklace... out of cool beads or hemp or something... with a tag that says "Do NOT smoke..." I am sure I am the only one that finds that funny... *HA* But was THAT ever funny...

Mum and Dad have nearly been married 28 years.... and I didn't know what to get them either... but it hit me... I took a FABULOUS picture of my brother (the one mentioned above) and I realized they don't have many pictures of him. So I framed it. They'll love it.

Mum might cry... he looks happy. Very happy despite the obvious hangover he had the moment I took it. He looks peaceful and wonderful... and the other night I cried showing Blair. Partly because I miss him... partly because his eyes make me weak.

I know he was happy then for the sole reason I was home... finally. We were sharing coffee and nods of the night before and I asked if I could take a frame... I only had one here in Alberta, with a lobster hanging from his teeth... it didn't do him justice... he grinned, half-assedly, and said no one had ever taken a picture of him alone before....

And so we have it... a face trapped in time... and a brief moment of happiness... how short it lasts.


previous next comments diaryland old