tracks 2003-07-03 6:15 p.m.


I am stunned by how thick my own networks can be...

The other night I called Nicole... she and I have been friends since I was four and she was five... maybe even longer... she's pretty amazing altogether... a military girl who has seen all, done all, been everywhere... knows just about everything... *laugh*

She and I are the only two I can think of who left home right after school and lived beyond ourselves... took leaps and followed dreams... She's now rather close in Cold Lake... YAY!

Ironicly the people we have met along the way interconnect...

She told me on Tuesday that her friend's father died, and that she can't seem to reach him. His cell phone has been off... and she just wants to send flowers or a card... something to let him know she knows and is thinking of him... that she cares. His family is from Port Au Port, Newfoundland... thousands of kilometres from us... she, has no way of finding anything out... she can't get his address from the base because it's priviledged... she's stuck... and asked me if I could think of anything...

Of course I can... *laugh* I am convinced I can track anyone down... I used to work with editor the paper that covered news in Port Au Port. So I sent him an e-mail... I haven't spoken to him years but he still remembers me..."the sweet mainlander"... I knew that he knows everything in his paper... so I knew he'd know if this man died and where I could get a hold of his family...

Sure enough, one of his employees is a relative. In less than a day my search was done.

Astounding... I put you to the test...


previous next comments diaryland old