Horoscopes.... 2003-06-29 12:23 p.m.


A little known fact... I used to design newspapers for eleven weeklies in Newfoundland... a part of it - the Leisure Page.

I was never one to really believe in my horoscope... though I admit, I would read it now and then for kicks... and when I learned where they ACTUALLY come from... I couldn't help but snicker at the weekly readers... believers... when in essence I was the master mind behind them. (If you don't care to know the TRUTH about them... stop reading).

Horoscopes come on a series of CDs... every month has it's own CD and there are horoscopes, Dear Abbys and games for every day or week, publisher's need... If, by chance last week's horoscope was too much like last's... the person laying out the page can take the liberty to change it. Yup... what a science. Sometimes I just didn't like what mine said... so I'd change it, because I could.

Bah... I ruined it for everyone. I work with a woman who lives her life by her horoscope. I ride with her most mornings and she KNOWS fairwell about my previous experiences... but every morning we listen to it... I roll my eyes at her satisifaction...

And today proved how crap they are again... for kicks I read the horoscope at msn.com...not only did I read my own, but I read ALL of them and each of them say practically the same thing. Tension... need for solitude.... take a walk or read. I laughed like a mad man by the time I was halfway through.

Memories... It amuses me so greatly how people can believe what isn't true at all.. how people can make their lives reflect words put there by someone sitting night shift at a paper... how, I guess they think, every news association pays a psychic to predict the stars for every sign... everyday... or every week... I assume that's what they must believe... otherwise, why believe at all?


previous next comments diaryland old