wedding rain 2003-06-21 9:09 p.m.


It rained today... poured buckets from the Heavens... on Shannon's wedding day.

I felt bad for her... she didn't look happy and given the stresses I would say it was understandable, but I know it was more than the rain bringing her down. She was beautiful... and that is the only part of it all that seemed to be in place.

Granted, I haven't been to many weddings... but I am sure the bride is suppose to be happier than she seemed. By nature, she beams... this might be one of the few times I saw her down.

The ceremony... strange... the bride's maids practically ran down the aisle... the flower girl (her daughter) stumbled down LONG before anyone else. There was no music... no organization... no planning. The groom sputtered out his vows painfully... The kiss held far too much tongue to be meaningful... and the newly weds stood inches apart in every picture. I would say it was 50s, they were sixteen and being forced... it was weird.

We didn't stay long... felt out of place... kind of like we were the two in love in the room.... I felt shitty... and behind my smiles I fake daily, I was sad for her. Deeply.

If you knew her, you'd agree that she deserves so much more than she settles for... I guess that's what breaks me altogether. I want friends to have it all, because my friends deserve it all... and I feel like she's short handing herself somehow.

It brings me down. But vows are binding and she's headed for the life she's chosen.... and I promise as her friend to stand behind her and beside her when she needs me to...

I hope the odditity of the day is no reflection of her future... and if she taught me anything she taught me that going to Jamaica and coming home married is the only way to go.


previous next comments diaryland old