walking alone 2003-04-30 10:23 p.m.


I am amazed sometimes what a girl is to a guy when she isn't with one.

I really don't do much or go far without my boyfriend... and I guess in the time that I've been with him, I've forgotten how people react when he's not around...

It doesn't make me proud or walk like a fox... but it's funny as hell... it reminds me times with Amanda and Tam...

Walking home from work tonight two people offered me a ride home... one guy was a client at the other print shop I worked at... the other guy a complete stranger... Either way I wouldn't get in a car... besides which the weather is lovely and I was glad to walk.

A stranger at a cross walk chatted me up like I was his best friend... talking about Stage 13 and Bud Country... asked if I was going to either... *laugh* I talk to strangers often enough... but not just out of the blue about nothing.

I walk a stretch beside a busier street... the walk from my door to the end of this stretch is probably a five to ten minute one... not long... and in the mornings, usually quiet... In this stretch six cars honked at me... and only once did I recognize the driver... our shop's Purolator Man.... the other five were simply a case of mistaken identity, I am sure... Four cars hollared/whistled at me... well, I guess it was only three since the first car circled back around and passed me twice.

And I am thinking... Hmmmm what is this about? A day when my clothes aren't exceptionally tight or see-through... a day when I know I look far from my best in every way... it's all too strange.

But you know... when I am standing beside a man who looks more frightening than I think he even knows how to be... nobody has the balls to say anything. Expect maybe the Puro-Man.

Hmmmm I prefer it that way.


previous next comments diaryland old