Itchy Nose 2003-04-06 10:55 p.m.


The Junos.... *sigh* I used to LOVE the Junos... when I was little it was the highlight of my year... when good Canadian music was honoured for its talent...

Talent has seemed to have lost its meaning over the years.

Bands that should have wone something... and didn't.... Crush, Holly McNarland, Sarah Harmer... More Remy Shand even... but less Shania and LESS Avril.

For the LOVE of GOD, I have never heard a single person perform worse in ALL my life... and keep in mind I have been tortured through the Inbreds and the Rheostatics twice live. I know brutality when I hear it and Avril Lavigne, I am sorry fans, is brutal. She was worse than Sam Roberts, even (who, would, Mr. Parker, be on the list of good looking singers, if he bathed and could sing).

At one point I turned to the boy and said "You know, I can scream like her.... and I am just as cute... how come I am not rich?"

"You can't skateboard... and shit."

There you have it... what Canadian music has fallen too... IMAGE.

It simply saddens me.

I found few moments I enjoyed, but among them Blue Rodeo and Tom Cochrane... seconds, through brief, of music like it USED to be made.


previous next comments diaryland old