day's end 2003-02-25 6:57 p.m.


I am still sick... not even better, but at least not dizzy....

So I dragged my sorry ass to work this morning.... because there is truth in "if you force yourself, you can do it".

Me and my voice squeekier than usual.... squeeking and barely there... Upon walking in Lisa says "Manda, you look bad... go back home."

Good morning, Lisa... I missed you too.

And I know she just likes to take care of me since I take such poor care of myself... so she said if I was still looking shitty by noon, home I would go. And since she is my acting manager... there isn't a whole lot I can say against her... but I did plead with a quiet "No home for me... I HATE being at home."

I got nothing more than an "I know you do, but you're more important than this," circling her hands around the office like a clown. I appreciate her sincerity... she is, I've learned, one of the few people in my world that is truly as she seems... Caring, giving and genuine.... above dolling out my pay cheque.

By noon I was feeling a little better... I got a bit of work done... I got our area up to speed at least... ironed out a few mysterious... my ear ached less and my voice found me... The funniest part of that... the only word from my lips tonight seems to be "fuck". Classy.

And now... after I made dinner and could barely choke it down... all I want to do is sleep.

I want to curl up in the comfort of down and familiarity.... in kitten purs and in strong arms that love me even when I am like this.... incredibly and undeniably ugly.

They say misery loves company.


previous next comments diaryland old