Spew. 2003-02-21 11:13 p.m.


The week is done... and i am still falling.

It has been a bad week - a short week and still a long one.

It hit me this afternoon talking to a designer, just how much I have stored in my brain.... apparently more than the average bear, he thinks...

I speak Mac and PC... English and some French.

Illustrator, Photoshop, Image Ready, Indesign, Quark Xpress, Pagemaker 6, Corel Draw, Corel Paint, Word, Publisher... all much too fluently.

eps, ai, jpeg, tif, gif, pdf... I can import, export, scan anything and make it vector.... cmx and Corel Trace.

Curves and raster.... Spot colours, cmyk, rgb, index, grayscale, lineart... Every colour has a number.... Red 485... reflex blue, yellow 109, green 348, orange 21...

Resolution 300, 150, 72 screen, lpi, ppi, dpi... pause... Trap... inside, outside... press, neg... GTO, KORD, Multi... AB dick.

Carolina Coated 1-sided 8pt and 10pt, Carolina Coated 2-sided 7pt. Glossy 80# and 100 #, Cougar Cover 65 and 80. face down printing off, tray 5, tabloid, legal, over sized, letter... media type: heavy weight, extra heavyweight, normal.... deep breath.

Matte stock isn't coated but it isn't flat. Toner won't fuse to it through the 1500.

I can take a image I didn't design, with flattened layers, rendered text and a naked girl... change the spellling of her name, the colour/style of the background, tame her fly-aways, stamp out her stretch marks and pubic hair and give her a boob job.... all before 9:30.

Apparently I can make her posters, business cards, transfers, keychains, labels and do the same for her friend....

While on my left, I am confessing to a mistake, fixing it... reruning the job, changing copier parts on two machines to fix the colour, or lack thereof, finding stock and keeping the copiers fed.

Is it any wonder I have no more room in my head???????

i am not including the fact that I remember the birthdays of the majority of the people I have met... and I have the phone numbers of all my childhood friends still etched....

I have somewhat of a photographic memory and recall things based on what I and/or my company was wearing then. My earliest memory is before I was three.

I don't forget important things..... I can't forget the little things....

But I can never find my spare shoe laces or hair clips.... or the car in a parking lot... and if it wasn't for the beastly size in rings and chains, I'd probably lose my keys.

That is my brain.... and that was my week.


previous next comments diaryland old