Two Fifty for a decade 2002-12-11 6:47 p.m.


I woke up to Little Bones this morning... and I thought of Andy... I haven't thought about Andy in a long time...

At a concert around this time, senior year... he got up on stage and played Ahead by a Century...

"This one's for Amanda, I don't know her last name, but she's sitting right there...."

Thanks for pointing me out in a crowd of a thousand people...

He was fun at Christmas though... fun all the time, though not always healthy for me.

He used to decorate my massive amounts of curls like a Christmas tree... tie it up with garland and hang decorations from it.... all but the the lights. I didn't mind - it was a little heavy...

We had a candy cane program... send candy canes to your friends anonymously... senior year I got probably a dozen... maybe two... a couple were from Jody (*hehe* the boy you know I was meant to marry and never will) and the others I later found out were from Andy.

It's strange how a boy you think is just walking through leaves a huge impression on your life... I think maybe I took his kindness for granted.... I think maybe I counted on him to be my smile when I couldn't... my company when I was alone... and I probably shouldn't have taken so much without giving more.

We've since lost touch... talking and seeing eachother in passing twice in the last five years.

My last Christmas I was home for he came to our door... I nearly fell over. He took the mistletoe and stuck it my hair.... and kissed my cheek.

He called once after that to talk to my brother, not knowing I was home again... I answered and he asked me to dinner... it never happened, I left again too soon.

And today I half wonder if I should have made the effort to meet him... if we would have glued our friendship solid then.... probably not, but I can't help but wonder what if...

It'd be nice to tell him how much I appreciate him... still for the crazy and silly things he did to make me grin... for understanding me... and standing right behind me when I needed him.

It'd like to thank him for the practical jokes he played on me... the songs he learned for me... the dancing on the desks to make me blush...

I'd like to say thank you for making my life somewhat light when most of it wasn't.

I'd like to sit out in a 3 am rain with him again listening to him strum his guitar....

"It's never dead down here.... it's just a little tired..."


previous next comments diaryland old