school 2002-11-30 12:08 p.m.


Eric tells me he has a month's break between semesters... and maybe that's his program at Concordia... but it makes me want to be a student again.

I think maybe I lost flying through... it seemed like a good idea at the time... move to BC do grade twelve... skip the idiocy of CEGEP, jump right into something post secondary... and by the time I am 20 I could have a real job... sounded brilliant when I was 17.

And I guess it was smart on my part... only I kind of miss the perks of school... I miss the freedom, the week days and weekends off, the dodging obligations and still getting great grades. I miss flying through - stress free. And that's what school always was for me... time to relax and get rewarded. I suppose not a building block for life skills.

I'll probably go back in the near future... I found a base when I was young... I lived it... I learned from life - which teaches far more than any classroom...

I have fundemental life skills now that won't be lost on me... I know this page isn't a good reflextion... but in the real world, I know how to write... properly... without ellipsis and poor spelling... I can speak two languages... *laugh* I've even been dubbed the "Grammar Queen" - I am sure that hardly holds true anymore.

Soon I'll be at a place where being in school won't be a hardship on us. But I don't know what or where to take it.

Maybe I'll just take night courses and learn more or well what I've taught myself already... *laugh* get a raise... keep my desk and my pay cheque...

But I still wouldn't get a month off at Christmas. And I think that might be the only important thing.


previous next comments diaryland old