First Impressions 2002-11-17 9:54 p.m.


Hey Doll, I found this the other day and I don't mean it as an attack on our past. I know you've read it before, but I know how you've been feeling lately, and I want to remind you of your wonder, your beauty and of all the reasons why we love you. Because, everything aside I am your friend, and I love you.

These were my thoughts the day I met you:

~I sat beside an angel under the gallery in the park today.

It was raining, she was wearing lace and a thin coat. I think she had been crying, but it was wet outside and I didn't ask her, it wasn't my place.

She was cold. I could see the goosepimples on the back her neck and on her chest.

When I asked her what time she had she looked at me - square in the eye like I was an obstacle to over come. A threat almost.

"Ten to One"

Her eyes are amazing. Huge and deep. Her hair is wild, blond and curly. She's beautiful. I've never set eyes on anyone like her. Ever.

She sounded French almost, Irish maybe. Her accent is so mangled but she isn't from here. I knew that before I sat down.

I wanted to buy her something warm. I wanted to wrap her up in my arms, take her home and keep her safe. But I don't know her. Strange isn't it? And she's just a kid.

Later this afternoon I walked into the library to return a few books, and who was there but the same angel at a table helping the special needs boy tie books into bundles. Her laugh is wonderful. The boy enjoys her company I can tell. I think he was messing up his bows just so the chore would last longer. I don't blame him.

By the time I got to the counter she was there helping the customer beside me. My card was scanned, my name came up, and the voice of the older lady in front of me: "And your phone number sir?"

"8873" I turned to the sweet girl beside me, before my barin could control my tongue. "Hey Love, 8873, that's my number - please call me, please." Like a boy begging.

I am dreaming. What would someone so amazing want with me?

If I had met her a few years before, I think my life would be changed. I would be a different man, for sure.~

First Impressions are everything, Hon.


previous next comments diaryland old