Kodiak 2002-07-12 8:57 a.m.


We leave tomorrow for Kodiak country. We don't really have a destination... just an idea of where we'd like to end up... The Northern West Coast... The Queen Charlottes if we could.

I want to get into a small zodiak and be whisked into the sea to watch whales again...it's been a long time and I am craving that wonder... And mostly, I'd like to share it with him.

It's a sensation beyond words to be so close to a whale you could touch her.. to have her rock your boat until the edges dip into the salt.. to literally have your existance lay in her demeanor.

If I don't get to go again, that's ok too.

I am not a camper... i fear the things that could eat me. I don't like being dirty.. I like being smooth and groomed... but I bought a new bikini and if there's anywhere where I can swim in the morning...I am fully aware of the bitter cold of lakes and streams that far North.... I'll be ok. I've bathed in a glacier pool before...the feeling is pure.

I am excited to see somewhere neither of us has seen before. I am excited to share a quiet week of Blair and I together... somewhere... quiet and no contact.. no pagers... or telephones or laptops...

I need to get away.... and I am...


previous next comments diaryland old