That's me in the Everglades 2002-05-21 8:51 a.m.


~My name is Marc.

I am a recovering junkie. I am a brother. I am a son. I am a father figure. I used to be a friend.

I knew this girl who took me for everything I was inside and not for the trouble I was on the out. She was an epiphany for me. A calling when I needed it.

My mistake was treating her like my priest. I confessed instead of confided. I always thought she was strong enough to hold me and somehow forgot she had her own to hold.

And still, years after I recovered I fell again. I hope it's brief but I can't tell for sure. I turn to her and without asking I make her listen.

She calls me a blame shifter. She says I hope for a magic that will never exist unless I make it. She says we all have trouble, but some people wallow in it and others over come.

She says so much it clouds my memory. She tells me I had a pretty good childhood. I was given everything and never realized it. She's right. I have wealthy parents who spoiled me. Gave me everything I need. I don't think they wasted things on me, but I suppose they probably did.

I never needed as a kid, I only wanted and I got that too. Money was always in supply and I could afford to watse myself early in life.

She tells me I feed myself with a silver spoon... even as an adult. I do. Only the best of everything for me. Of every world. And eventually it doesn't look so good.

I wrote her this letter last week about the ends of my life and how everything I thought I wanted I couldn't have. How I was doomed by destiny. How htings are not right for me. That I am 25 and lost in a world that awaits me.

I was hoping for comfort. I was called naive.

Once again, she is an Epiphany for me.

I was at a point last week where I wasn't weighing anything that I pumped into my veins. I blackout for a more than a day i think. I haven't seen my daughter for weeks and I thought noe seeing her face was the best thing for me.

And then I was reminded how naive I can be.

Thank you, friend for showing me.~

"I reread every letter you ever wrote me and then that diary entry. I sat down and wrote a speech for group therapy. And I wanted you to read it first, since you can't be there to hear me say it."

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I can't paste everything he says on here... but sometimes words need to be shared. You can leave words for him in my guestbook... if you feel the need.


previous next comments diaryland old