777 Bay boy 2002-05-14 7:37 p.m.


My long weekend was short...

I was greeted at work today by the three books I have been working on... all done far between... all made it back to me yesterday with minor additions.... Minor to the client.... a little too fiddly for me.

A kid was in... he was interested to see what a graphic artist/typsetter does... *laugh* I think he left disappointed...

College is a lie to the real world, and someone should tell you that from the get go. No matter what area of multi-media, media or graphics you get into, you start at the bottom rung.

Simplicity sells... so all those fancies you learned in school... you won't use... not often anyhow.

Hmmmm this kid had been taking graphics in Edmonton last year... and he knew nothing about the things that matter... nothing about trap, or bleed... knock outs or overprints... Plates seemed like a foreign term to him.... separation was a cock of his brow.

But he knew how to select things, and fill them...

And it made me wonder... what did he pay for?

I guess they taught him that design is all digital... but it's far from. The basics of print are essential to good work... what's the point of making something if it's useless in the real world?

Well.. I hope he finds what he's looking for... he left in a hurry though... tail dangling sadly between his scraggly little school-boy legs...

I guess the real world of graphic design isn't good enough for him...


previous next comments diaryland old