Mirror has no face 2002-04-01 6:39 p.m.


Dear friend,

I'll walk with you...

I haven't been there before, I am there too... and the difference that makes to you...i don't know... But if nothing else we can stand together and fight.

We're not one, we're not the same but there is strength in our similarity.

I read your words... and some days I want to cry in your pain... and still i find it hard to face my own.

I can pick out certain events in my life... starting at my birth incidently... that have led to this fall over the last five or six years... certain things... that when I thought I was getting stronger... someone would cut me down... not in petty ways. In ways beyond the mind of a friend or mother could fathom.

And I wonder about my right to this too... but i've decided I take that right... to be anyway i want to be... i stood so long pretending... it's time now to just give in. The only reason valid - whatever is... IS...

I don't know if that will work with you... if even for me... but at this point, what else have we to lose?

I don't deal in the same respect as you... i don't cut... I don't bleed... but I torture myself with memories... with guilt... with nights of faces and things unchanged.

And you know, I hardly know you... but I love you... in a way that doesn't shade from the things that you do. And I understand you...

I know what it's like to look at your face and doubt it belongs to the girl you once knew.

Standing two-by-two.


previous next comments diaryland old