Chained to Faith 2001-12-15 10:56 p.m.


Like many... Christmas reminds me of religion... or rather the religion I do not have.

Now that i am grown I appreciate my parents effort to drag us to a United Church service... maybe once every five years... taking us to Catholic Church... making us kneel... bow our heads and cross to The Father The Son and The Holy Spirit... even though as kids we had no clue what that even meant.

If my parents have ever done one thing so spectacular it was not forcing religion upon us... we grew up without confusion but with clarity...

Our parents gave us the choice... of a God... one or several... or non at all.. they gave the choice to believe in or not believe in a Saviour... with the understanding that Salvation and redemption comes within...

They taught us that we have to find our own truth... should we find it the Bible, the Koran... under the influence of Buddha, or in the teaching of Jehova... they taught us that there is not one truth, never has been one solid religious truth... and never will be.

I remember asking my father about War... why his father had to fight... He told me that a darked haired, dark-eyed Jewish man didn't like dark haired, darke-eyed Jews...

Later I asked him why Palistine was at War... "Well they're still fighting over Christ."

And the Irish Dad, why do they fight....

Two religions very close in belief... cannot agree to disagree...

He made it so clear to me.

What a wonderful world you gave to us... Letting us learn all... accepting that we have friends of all walks...

What a wonderful gift you gave us... teaching us to respect the religion of who's company we're in...

Thank you for allowing us to enlighten ourselves... for teaching us about all religions and philosophies... explaining their truths without fierce judgement, without bias...

I may not believe that the Christian God has done much for my life... but maybe He has had a hand in yours... I might not believe that Christ was born upon a winter's sky... but if He did give His all to save those who believe, then by all means let's celebrate His life...

Lets get together around a Christian table... lets hold hands... and say Grace. Lets give thanks for where He brought you... for all the faith that He gave...

And if I only see one truth about Him... without Him, I wouldn't have You.


previous next comments diaryland old