Mental Jewellery 2001-11-22 10:25 p.m.


I called my brother tonight... I told him all I had to tell him... and I tried so hard not to cry, but I couldn't do it.

I saw his face, a million miles between us. I saw his blue eyes, already tired by years of his own pain, and stained with guilt... scared by the taste of death and the loss of innocence... I could see all that through his silence... and I cried.

I tired so hard to be factual... but when the haze of emotion, meets the fog of truth... there just isn't room for the science of... there just isn't any room to breathe.

And I listened to the tone of our breath...

My brother could fix a thousand worlds over, with reason and a welder's torch... but when it comes to his... he's lost.

Tonight, he was lost. He isn't the optimist like our other brother... nor am I. He didn't say things will turn out fine... he doesn't know that they will. He didn't lie to me about the sun on the other side... he only said that he didn't know what to say.... except he loves me.

And so our conversation was short... I didn't want to wreck his night with my saddens.

He went back to his movie... and I went back to my boy...

He'll think about me and wonder what the future will bring... he'll think until he's thoughts run dry.

I wonder why his beautiful blue eyes turned black... and I cry.


previous next comments diaryland old