14 days is forever when you're me 2008-08-22 6:39 a.m.


This feels like it won't end...

Pregnancy, itchiness, hives, itchiness... infection... itchiness... sleeplessness.... creams... itchiness.

I have to tough it out until my son is born. It's all I can do... and not scratch. But let's be clear - this isn't your average mossie-bite-itch itch... this is on a scale that makes you WISH someone would straight jacket you so you can at least keep some skin on your bones.

I asked to be admitted or committed for the last few weeks... in seriousness, I asked them to put me away so I could get better without risking my health or my baby's... but my doctor wouldn't do it. Instead, he gave me sweet temporary relief and then took it away a week ago.

Well... it's back! The insanity is BACK. And the hives... hundreds of them... daily, nightly, hourly.

My son is no rush to get here. He's just floating away in his gigantic bag of waters... with no sign of really engaging where he needs to be. And for extra Mummy fun, I'm told they're going to make me labour through and then mostly likely, probably, definitely take him by c-section.

I'm pint-sized. My son is average. No one forsees a tradional birth being possible, but there is no such thing as elective c-sections in this city for first-time mothers. Thankfully, my doctor pretty well said he's going to go a little soft on the rules and not make me labour very long before he "decides" on a c-section.

Let's see if he keeps his word.


previous next comments diaryland old