Canadian Idiots 2006-12-04 8:55 p.m.


We have a LOT to lose sleep over these days...

I notice a lot of people up in arms about Canadian politics (observant, aren't I?). Moreover, I see a lot of people up in arms about Harper's motion to declare le Qu�becois a nation within a united front.

It seems to me it's the same people who don't pay attention to politics who are upset by this... so let me, as a Qu�becer and a Canadian say this:

It is not the people of Qu�bec who want this fight, but the politians of Canada who encourage it... and unless you understand the ins and outs of Qu�bec politics... Qu�bec culture and what it means to be a French-Canadian, it is something you will NEVER understand, let alone have a RIGHT to get upset about.

But here is the truth... Qu�bec is a nation, by definition.

"na�tion,[ney-shuhn], noun: a large body of people, associated with a particular territory, that is sufficiently conscious of its unity to seek or to possess a government peculiarly its own.

An aggregation of persons of the same ethnic family, often speaking the same language or cognate languages.

A people who share common customs, origins, history, and frequently language; a nationality"

Hmmm all apply to Qu�bec. This doesn't mean that I support separatism. I don't. But there is ABSOLUTELY NO DISPUTING the fact that the province is a nation in and of itself, at least by definition.

But I believe this about Qu�bec...as I believe this about those lobbying to redefine marriage in our country... fight for the right to have rights... don't fight for something that wasn't yours when it was made.

When woman in the 30s wanted to vote... we didn't fight to be called men. We fought for an equal voice.

Isn't THAT good enough?

Well no... and it's the people who haven't left their shoe-box-of-a-town Qu�bec who want more than what belongs to them... they're fighting to hold on to a culture that they, in turn, are strangling....

But it won't stop... unless Trudeau rises from the dead and puts the smack down... I don't see that happening.

That said... as we we're worrying about a nation within a nation and gay marraige and the liberal leadership... there are thousands of people being slaugheterd in the Sudan... THOUSANDS of children unsafe in their beds (using the term ever-so-loosely, as most don't even have beds)... and we, as a whole nation, could do something about it... but we're not.

There's a world where the air is so thick from the smog and the shit we spit into it... and CANADA doesn't give a fuck... we stand alone in this too... Oh, well, we might care once we iron out this gay marriage thing, but for now... you know... our environment can wait until 2011... Mr. Harper will let his people speak about at a later date, I'm sure.

I love my country... I love my home province... I love my culture... but I miss what Canadians used to be... what brought my ex back to canada time and time again... We used to be smart, loyal, loving... we were the peace makers... and we got it right... most of the time.

And it's all getting way too fucked up.

I don't wanna be a Canadian idiot... do you?


previous next comments diaryland old