Moist sung of this once.... 2006-10-13 10:58 p.m.


My day's been busy and my evening could have gone better... the latest in our happy home was a blowup argument about... a scanner. *hahaha*. Yes. A Scanner... and the argument started before I left work...

I called my husband to ask him if we have a good scanner that I can hook up to do work this weekend. I have a hockey program that has to get done and since I'm the only girl to do it with only 7.5 hrs in my day I know I have to take this project home... he tells me we only have the old one which, to my knowledge, sucks... so I say "well, ok I guess I'll go buy one this weekend."

I should know when to use my inside voice over my outside voice...

He goes off on me about spending money to do work for my boss on my time for my shitty wage without overtime... hahaha... and how I'll waste money and his shit scanner is fine... then says "The answer is NO you cannot buy a scanner."

Oh did I ask? I didn't think I was asking. I DIDN'T ask. *haha* So I hang up on him... naturally.

He picks me up from work... in which time I decided to let it go... just let the whole stupid thing go... it's just a scanner and the truth be that I probably won't get to the scanning before work on Monday anyway... but no... we no sooner get the tires on our way home and he's going off on me again about the scanner. LOL. And how if I have to... I can get up and go to work and use the scanner at work. Or go to his work and use his scanner ... because he has a fancy scanner with a document feed... and I can scan 110 copies in a minute. *haha*

Well I'm scanning logos from business cards... about 150 of them... and lil cards don't feed well. So he starts going on about scanning 60 at a time and copying and pasting... which take my word, won't work.

Mmmm... so I calmly say "I understand that you don't understand what my job is nor how to do it. So let's just let it go."

But no... he KEEPS yelling at me. I'm sure people stopped beside us thought he'd just pulled me outta some man's bed... He was swearing... and screaming... over a SCANNER... or moreover that I didn't want to fight about it, I guess.

So I kept saying... "Take a deep breath. Listen to yourself speak... and let it go! It's a scanner. Let it goooo.... tomorrow, if I need one... I will just go and buy myself one. I need a good one at home anyway."

Yeah... bad thing to say.

"Tomorrow I'm taking MY vehicle and I AM going to WORK!" (we have one vehicle... he paid for it).

"Yes, of course you are... I expected you would need to to gain some control over this."

He shuts up... pulls into the drive... and pretty well boots me out of the car. I couldn't help but laugh at him... and point out how he's contradicting his one "truth" about me - that I always want to fight - I don't... and he's trying to push me.

It's sort of a ridiculous way to react about buying a scanner... ESPECIALLY considering he wanted to spend $600 on a TV we don't need in a size he didn't want just because it was an online error and the only reason why he never did is because the company cancelled the order ... and I don't remember him ever asking if it was ok. He must forget about that already - afterall Tuesday was a long time ago. I haven't mentioned this yet...

Funny enough his mother phones later to see why he's still working... and I explain our lovely evening to her... and she says "well doesn't he want to buy a TV? Isn't he always buying computer junk? Isn't he staying in Vegas longer in November..."

Yeah I'm still waiting for those permission slips too.

Is that what I signed up for when I signed the certificate... he gets to do whatever... and when I wanna buy a bra or a scanner I get yelled at for an hour and then ignored for the rest of the night. I kinda wish he'd just go right to the ignoring. I like that part. *haha*

Do I get reminded how he thinks I'm useless and lazy and that I don't contribute? Does he get to drive home the one thing I know is true... that he's blind to everything... unless he thinks it's wrong or going to cost him something?

Ask me how tired of this I am?

I wouldn't fuck with me... and I thought he'd be smart enough not to fuck with me either.

He's standing in a puddle of gasoline with a cigarette in his mouth.


previous next comments diaryland old