Blue Hawai'i 2006-09-17 11:41 p.m.


Mmmm Hawai'i.

Maui is paradise... but paradise has a price - of about $80 USD everytime you're hungry and at least $9 USD every time you feel like having a nice drink.

A few highlights:

Water in a turquois to navy gradient I'm sure I'll never see again...

Lava rock cliffs.

The smell of plumeria on the highway

Swimming with a sea turtle a few feet away and having him poke his wee head up for a bit of air. I didn't run screaming... are you proud?

The Hana highway... 55 miles of windy windy windy roads... and the need to puke the entire way. I didn't puke. Are you proud?

Coconut candy from a stand on the Hana Highway.

The nothingness of Hana. *haha*

The Luau...

Mr. Bo Jangles and his sagging junk... I have NEVER seen balls in a speedo hang that low... and I never wanna see it again. But Jesus it was great. I knew there was a reason why speedo made leopard print.

My pineapple necklace.

My sunburn... and the nightly pics of my tanline... My back didn't tan at all. I just have a bunch of pictures of my bum. Ha!

The sweet baby boy on our flight to and from. He made my heart melt when he smiled.

The nudey beach. We don't have nude beaches in canada... pardon us for finding it... weird.

Cheap wine.... mmmm

The helicopter ride. Yes... it was cool. I was scared. I didn't cry. Nor did I puke. We flew into the waterfall area which is apparently the opening sequence of Jurassic Park. I can't be sure.... I haven't re-watched it yet.

What I have learned:
I would miss the changing seasons of Canada if I ever left.

I can be happy but still grieve. It was the best place I could have gone to help sew the hole I have in my heart. But the hole is still there.

This week I learned there is no perfect... there is no fair... and there isn't just one road going anywhere...

I found pieces of me in the sands of Ka'anapali... I picked them up... dusted them off... and I kept them... for the days when I forget... for the days when I feel like less than ordinary.

What to do... what to say....

But I wanna be a movie star... and move to the UK.


previous next comments diaryland old