Calm 2006-09-04 2:21 p.m.


I feel calm... finally. But no less ill.

I know it's the calm before the hurricane, but I'll take it anyway... I'm still hurt for my friend... and I have cried for her every day... twice and three and four times over...

The smoke in the air thick. I don't have to turn on the radio to know that somewhere within 200kms a forest is burning... my lungs know it, my head knows it... the fog is thick and gross... and I am the only one it seems to irritate... but then again... I'm the asthmatic fighing a throat infection right now.

I heard this morning that the crocodile hunter was killed by a sting ray... and as sad as a young man with two kids dying is (I am so painfully aware this week)... my lips curled in a faint smile... I'm sure he was happy to be killed by something in the sea. The only better way for him to go would be to be eaten by a crocodile. The irony that that which made him a star took his life from him... and I can just hear his irritating voice retell the story up at the pearly gates... You just know he went out with as much enthusiasm and he tortured all of us with... crikey.

Bless him... and his family... late night TV will never be the same for me.

I'm tired... ever-so-insanely tired and mellow... I dried my hair in it's insanely curly state... � la Tal. It's huge... and it was easy and I might just do this for a while.

I have so much to do... wax my legs... pack... work work work... contract work and work-work... find funeral appropriate wear... mend clothes, clean house.

I should really get to it...


previous next comments diaryland old