I'll gladly go to Hell for my open mind. 2006-07-12 9:13 p.m.


I'll say something here that I'm sure would get me shot out on the streets...

I don't think there is room for religion anymore.

Today someone told me that if I don't "find God" (meaning the Christian God) that I will go to Hell on Judgement Day.

Well... I'm not so worried. I don't worry about my time after death - I have too much to worry about now.

I strive for good. I strive to do good and be good and if that isn't enough to get me through the gates... OH WELL.

And when I heard... "But what if when you die you're standing up there and He refuses you because you never found him while on Earth. What then?"

I said as politely as I could... "I don't live in what ifs. What if when you die you learn there is nothing after death and your quest is all for nothing? I don't care what happens to me when I die. I'm busy living."

"Well you should."

Well... I should floss twice a day too... and do my exercises... and I should probably shave my legs more often as well.

There's plenty I SHOULD do.

Fear astounds me... Arrogance astounds me... and telling a non-Christian that they NEED to find God is arrogant.

They truly believe in ONLY one truth.

My husband, in this man's defense says, "all good values are founded in Christian roots..."

Well not ALL good values, sorry... it's simply that Christians, as a generalization... don't bother to swim that deeply in unknown seas... and they don't REALLY know what good values non-Christian faiths have.

Quickly I said... "Buddhism has been around a LOT longer than any Christian faith. Maybe that's the only truth."

Fact is that Buddhism has been around for 500 years before the seed of Christ. It's served, it's enlightened... it has has values... and morals and a sense of right and wrong. Why do they not count as a truth?

Yeah maybe I'm too liberal for religion... Maybe my mind is too much of an open box...

But I think if there is a God He's shaking his head at those who can't see beyond their own nose...

Did he intend a world full of people unable to have independant thought.

If you are a diehard Christian... sit back for a small moment... open the lid to your mind... and think for a moment. What causes so much hate in this world? What has caused war? What causes fear? What causes doubt? What makes you spend your whole life feeling so fucking guilty for things you couldn't have controlled to begin with?

Religion.

It's absolutely fine to have faith.... and believe in your truths... They aren't, however EVERYONE'S truths... and they are not the only truths on earth.

As much as you hate to hear it... it's very much relevant to who you are and where you stand.

Have faith. Have a lot of it. But don't be a puppet... He would be ashamed.



previous next comments diaryland old