Mirror 2006-06-20 10:49 p.m.


I walk with a limp...

My feet are mangled...

My spine is crooked.

My arms don't work well... my left hand is useless.

My face is scared... so is my tummy... and my legs... my heart, a little too, I guess.

I saw on TV once that symmetry is beauty and I thought, great that makes me the uglist sonofabitch around, doesn't it?

My brother calls only to say "You're beautiful." and I can hear that he means it. He tells me all the time when we're together.... laughs that everyone around us is just a little bit uglier when sitting near me... but he doesn't joke... his eyes don't... he believes it...

It leaves me thinking that he's dumber than I ever thought he was growing up.

B believes it too... when he says it... and he says it a lot, it's true...

And strangers have... the man at subway... J when he was a stranger... the girl at the gasbar...

So tell me why it is I don't see beauty at all... but I see a limp...
A crooked spin.
Mangeld Feet...
Scars from toe to tip...


previous next comments diaryland old