Time can only change so much 2006-06-17 8:14 p.m.


"Did you ever think our lives would turn out like this?"

"No."

"Not even close, huh?"

"When I was 18... I was pretty certain I'd end up married - eventually - to the crazy Australian I couldn't get rid of... "

"I thought you were going to, too."

My heart fills with salt.

When I was 18... I knew love... and I knew hate... and I could move the rhythm of the dance they create...

When I was 18... I was pretty.

I was solid in my knowledge of love and hate.

I was marble.

When he hurt me... I loved him anyway.

When I was 18... that was my love.

Not much has changed.

I'm 26... and I'm not pretty.

I'm made of mud, not marble... and the only thing solid these days are the 48 diamonds on my left hand... the gold they're set in... and what they mean.


previous next comments diaryland old