Emancipate 2006-06-12 7:14 p.m.


There is no start... and no end to my headache nor to my grief.

I'm depressed.

I can't hide it... and I give up trying to.

I want to sleep... to rid myself of pain... the ease my stiff hip and relieve my sore wrist... I want to sleep to mend my broken heart... to make sense of the time between when my lids close and when I wake again.

Happiness is not my opposite.

This is not a matter of my world and my mind... it's a matter of mind versus mind... I know this well... I know the beat of this drum... and I can't stop it.... I can't cure it... I can't stand it... but I can't readily change it either.

You fight for your space and I fight for you to stop fighting. I fear the day I need you and you're not there. I fear that day is today. You can't be a friend and stand across the stream... you can't love me in anyway and have your back turned to me everytime I need your face.

I won't let you have that. Take me as I am... with no choice. Take me for what I stand for... take what I give... and hold it safe...

Someday soon, I'll have nothing left for you to take.

What then?


previous next comments diaryland old