Vicarious 2006-06-11 6:26 p.m.


She calls me because she's falling asleep at the wheel on her way home from work.

I'm in her time zone. I make her laugh.

"So, I was wondering how it feels to know that EVERYONE back home talks about you like you're a fucking legend... they all know or want to know you're business. I didn't know you were so... uhm, popular."

I bow... I laugh.

It doesn't bother me because I'm not there to hear it.

"I went home last week and in 4 days, I heard your name like 20 times."

Small towns... I'm the one who "got out" and married handsome. People have a lot to say and they live vicariously...

I have to laugh at her stories though... the things people say without really knowing... you'd think I had moved to Hollywood and made myself a star...



previous next comments diaryland old