Across and two over. 2006-06-04 11:03 p.m.


I met a man on Friday I likely would never had, if it wasn't for our circumstance... we were both stuck waiting... and I being who I am and he being similar... we killed hours talking... even though we didn't know eachother from Adam or Eve.

He's my age... drives truck and up until last week he smoked heavily... until he decided to see his doctor for a problem with his vision that he's had since Christmas ... it comes and goes out of his left eye. The top of his vision was blurry now and then, but suddenly last week it stayed blurry.

He has a clot in a vessle behind his eye... a clot that could travel to his brain and cause him a stroke, or a clot that could rupture where it is and take his sight.

He was a handsome, kind, young guy... with a fianc�e... and a good job and all these things he wants to do... and suddenly he's told... that at anytime the lights might go out for good...

He told me he's quit smoking but he finds it so hard...

"Well..." I said... "when you need a smoke, close your left eye... and ask yourself if it's worth it. If that doesn't work, close both eyes."

He laughs... "That's smart, Hun, I might just do that..."

I hope he does.

He left before I did... and on his way out, he squeezes my shoulder from behind as he passes.

"Thanks, eh... for listening. Good luck."

"Thank you for passing time with me... for sharing. Stay strong."

My life really is richer for those hours we spoke... for knowing his case. And I care... I care to the point that I've wondered a hundred times this weekend if he can see ok... and what tomorrow holds for him.

It's funny isn't it... how we can worry about people we don't even know.

Or is it really just me?


previous next comments diaryland old