Argentia to Sydney 2006-05-27 5:25 p.m.


Friday was my friend's birthday... it was rainy here... tired and miserable. Not the kind of day that felt like celebration or joy...

She's a stay-at-home mother of the two greatest girls in the world but she finds now being home is hard to make the days pass... even if she has to run after two dolls all day long...

I never forget her birthday... I tend not to forget birthdays really, and so when I got to work on Friday I ordered flowers for her...

I thought, in my own misery... in the rain... in the dull and the bore of the mundane... a colourful bouquet of cheer would help wipe away the ordinary and curl her lips (and mine) to smile.

It worked... I could hear it in her thank you... I could hear true friendship... caring... and the happiness hidden in silliness we are when we're together.

And so it sprung to thought... how many friends like that exist? Like her and I... that would, on a rainy day, remember how you like gerbers... remember that on your birthday you're likely to get nothing but a kiss from your kids...

How many friends do you have that would open the door to you in the middle of a cold night... let you sleep on their couch... drink out of their fridge?

It came to mind that I'm blessed that way... every friend I have is like me... I don't have just one best friend to count on... but ten or a hundred... or a hundred and ten from Argentia to Sydney... I have made a world full of friends.... people I need.

I knew a man who believed he didn't need anyone to be complete... he didn't need a friend... he just needed a tent... a bible... and a bottle of Evian...

I thought he was crazy then... but I realized last week he isn't crazy at all... he was lying.

Masquerading his lonliness for truth.



previous next comments diaryland old